日時 2004年5月19日(水)~5月21日(金)
場所 玉川大学 大学研究室棟B104会議室
オーガナイザー 塚田 稔氏(工学部・学術研究所教授)

COE International Symposium on Attention and Decision
Tamagawa University
Machida, Tokyo, Japan
May 19 - 21, 2004


Minoru Tsukada (Leader of Tamagawa-COE Program, Tamagawa University, Machida, Japan)


John Duncan (Medical Research Council, Cambridge, UK)
Jun Tanji (Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan)
Masamichi Sakagami (Tamagawa University, Machida, Japan)

Tentative Schedule:

Wednesday, May 19th

13:00-13:10 Opening Remark
  Minoru Tsukada (Tamagawa University, Machida)
13:10-15:10 <Session 1>
Chairman: Keiji Tanaka (RIKEN, Wako)
13:10-13:40 Takeo Watanabe (Boston University, Boston)
Perceptual learning without perception is not passive
13:40-14:10 Rufin Vogels (Leuven University, Leuven)
On the interactions of attention, learning and stimulus coding
14:10-14:40 Leonardo Chelazzi (University of Verona, Verona)
Visual selective attention and the linkage of sensory to motor representations in the activity of macaque posterior parietal cortex neurons
14:40-15:10 Hidehiko Komatsu (National Institute Physiological Sciences, Okazaki)
Interaction between bottom-up and top-down attention mechanisms in area V4 of the monkey
15:10-15:30 Coffee Break
15:30-17:00 <Session 2>
Chairman: John Duncan (Medical Research Council, Cambridge)
15:30-16:00 Peter Thier (University of Tubingen, Tubingen)
Subcortical structures with distinct contributions to the control of spatial attention
16:00-16:30 Tirin Moore (Stanford University, Stanford)
Visual selection, saccade planning, and the neural basis of covert spatial attention
16:30-17:00 Shinsuke Shimojo (Caltech, Pasadena)
Gaze and preference: eye orienting as somatic precursor of emotional judgment
17:00-17:20 Coffee Break
17:20-18:50 <Session 3>
Chairman: Ichiro Fujita (Osaka University, Osaka)
17:20-17:50 Shigeru Kitazawa (Juntendo University, Tokyo)
Where tactile stimuli are ordered in time
17:50-18:20 Norihiro Sadato (National Institute Physiological Sciences, Okazaki)
Cross-modal plasticity and integration:functional MRI studies
18:20-18:50 Mitchell Valdes-Sosa (Cuban Center for Neuroscience, Habana)
Suppresion of sensory information used for decisions during the attentional blink

Thursday, May 20th

09:00-11:00 <Session 4>
Chairman: Hidehiko Komatsu (National Institute Physiological Sciences, Okazaki)
09:00-09:30 Ichiro Fujita (Osaka University, Osaka)
Stereopsis and the temporal lobe areas
09:30-10:00 Masato Taira (Nihon University, Tokyo)
Neural mechanisms for spatial vision
10:00-10:30 Atsushi Iriki (RIKEN, Wako)
Parietal mechanisms for mentalizing meaningful actions of self and others in monkeys

Alvaro Pascual-Leone (Harvard University, Boston)
TMS studies of fronto-parietal interactions in hemispatial attention

11:00-11:20 Coffee Break
11:20-13:20 <Session 5>
Chairman: Jun Tanji (Tohoku University, Sendai)
11:20-11:50 Keiji Tanaka (RIKEN, Wako)
Goal-based action selection in the medial prefrontal cortex
11:50-12:20 Matthew Rushworth (Oxford Univeristy, Oxford)
The role of the frontal cortex in decision making and task control
12:20-12:50 Akichika Mikami (Kyoto University Primate Research Institute, Inuyama)
Neurons in the anterior cingulate cortex of macaque monkeys activated during selection of GO/NOGO behavior based on reward or aversive stimulation
12:50-13:20 Tomoki Fukai (Tamagawa University, Machida)
Neural network dynamics underlying decision process
13:20-14:20 Lunch
14:20-16:20 <Session 6>
Chairman: Masataka Watanabe (Tokyo Metropolitan Institute for Neuroscience, Fuchu)
14:20-14:50 Masahiko Takada (Tokyo Metropolitan Institute for Neuroscience, Fuchu)
Multisynaptic inputs from prefrontal cortex to primary motor cortex as revealed by retrograde transneuronal labeling of rabies virus
14:50-15:20 Toshiyuki Sawaguchi (Hokkaido University, Sapporo)
Neuronal coding of attention, dicision, and response-outcome in the prefrontal cortex:"intra-brain operating system" concept
15:20-15:50 Shintaro Funahashi (Kyoto University, Kyoto)
Prefrontal contribution to the decision process of the saccade direction
15:50-16:20 Jun Tanji (Tohoku University, Sendai)
Region-selective activity in the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex of monkeys
16:20-16:40 Coffee Break
16:40-18:40 <Session 7>
Chairman: Wolfram Schultz (Cambridge University, Cambridge)
16:40-17:10 Makoto Kusunoki (Oxford University, Oxford)
The response of lateral prefrontal neurons to the visual simuli in paired associate task.
17:10-17:40 Masamichi Sakagami (Tamagawa University, Machida)
Competition between relevant and irrelevant stimulus-response codes in prefrontal cortex
17:40-18:10 Seiki Konishi (University of Tokyo, Tokyo)
Decomposing Wisconsin Card Sorting Task - Neural basis of cognitive set shifting in the human prefrontal cortex revealed by event-related fMRI
18:10-18:40 Katsuyuki Sakai (University of Tokyo, Tokyo)
Prefrontal control for task set
19:00- <Banquet>

Friday, May 21st

09:00-10:30 <Session 8>
Chairman: Mitsuo Kawato (ATR International, Kyoto)
09:00-09:30 Masataka Watanabe (Tokyo Metropolitan Institute for Neuroscience, Fuchu)
Integration of executive and motivational operations in the lateral prefrontal cortex
09:30-10:00 Daeyeol Lee (University of Rochester, Rochester)
Prefrontal cortex and decision making during a strictly competitive game
10:00-10:30 Wolfram Schultz (Cambridge University, Cambridge)
Coding of prediction and uncertainty by reward neurons
10:30-10:50 Coffee Break
10:50-12:20 <Session 9>
Chairman: Daeyeol Lee (University of Rochester, Rochester)
10:50-11:20 John Duncan (Medical Research Council, Cambridge)
fMRI studies of attention and awareness
11:20-11:50 Mitsuo Kawato (ATR International, Kyoto)
Computational-model-based imaging studies of decision learning
11:50-12:20 Kenji Doya (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Okinawa)
How the basal ganglia realize reinforcement learning
12:20-12:30 <Concluding remark>
John Duncan (Medical Research Council, Cambridge)

Invited speakers:

Leonardo Chelazzi (Italy)
Kenji Doya (Japan)
John Duncan (UK)
Ichiro Fujita (Japan)
Tomoki Fukai (Japan)
Shintaro Funahashi (Japan)
Atsushi Iriki (Japan)
Mitsuo Kawato (Japan)
Shigeru Kitazawa (Japan)
Hidehiko Komatsu (Japan)
Seiki Konishi (Japan)
Makoto Kusunoki (UK)
Daeyeol Lee (USA)
Akichika Mikami (Japan)
Tirin Moore (USA)
Alvaro Pascual-Leone (USA)
Matthew F. S. Rushwoth (UK)
Norihiro Sadato (Japan)
Masamichi Sakagami (Japan)
Katsuyuki Sakai (Japan)
Toshiyuki Sawaguchi (Japan)
Wolfram Schultz (UK)
Shinsuke Shimojo (USA)
Masato Taira (Japan)
Masahiko Takada (Japan)
Keiji Tanaka (Japan)
Jun Tanji (Japan)
Peter Thier (Germany)
Minoru Tsukada (Japan)
Mitchell Valdes-Sosa (Cuba)
Rufin Vogels (Belgium)
Masataka Watanabe (Japan)
Takeo Watanabe (USA)